LockerRoom Logo

Power Slap 1: Darius The Destroyer vs. Wolverine: Full Card and Preview

LockerRoom Team
02 March 2023

The first live finals event for the sanctioned and regulated slap-fighting promotion Power Slap, POWER SLAP 1: DARIUS THE DESTROYER vs. WOLVERINE, is scheduled for Saturday, March 11 at UFC APEX.

The event airs exclusively on Rumble around the world at 9 p.m. ET/6 p.m. PT. Free versions of Rumble are available for iOS, Android, Roku, AppleTV, FireTV, Android TV, and LG TV on desktop, mobile, and the web at

Monster Energy is the POWER SLAP 1's Presenting Partner. A limited number of states and sportsbooks will provide POWER SLAP 1 match odds for sports betting.

During the 13-match event, four champions at heavyweight, light heavyweight, middleweight, and welterweight will be crowned. Up to five rounds may be scheduled for each title match. All other matchups have a maximum of three rounds planned. Nine battles on the preliminary bill feature elite slap fighters from Power Slap: Road to the Championship. The Power Slap coin toss, which decides who goes first in each match, will be decided on Tuesday, March 7.

Main Event Preview

A Heavyweight title fight between "Darius The Destroyer" (#1 Heavyweight; 17-0, 3 KOs; fighting out of Kirbyville, MO) and "Wolverine" (#2 Heavyweight; 11-3, 4 KOs; fighting out of Mountain Home, Arkansas) will serve as the main event of the first Power Slap event.

"Darius The Destroyer," a 22-year-old undefeated phenom who has swept the sport, became a viral phenomenon after his 27-round fight with "Wolverine" in 2021 was widely regarded as the greatest slap duel of all time. "Wolverine," who is renowned for his distinctive beard and knockout strength, will make an effort to exact revenge on "Darius The Destroyer," who was responsible for his only career defeats.

ALSO READ | Powerslap is drawing numbers on the UFC YouTube channel

The two best heavyweights were featured as rival instructors on Power Slap: Road to the Championship, and they worked with up-and-coming slap fighters to get ready for their epic rematch on March 11.

The Co-Main Event of Power Slap 1

Vernon "The Mechanic" Cathey (2-0, 2 KOs), the top-ranked light heavyweight, and Ayjay "Static" Hintz, the second-ranked light heavyweight, will square off in the co-main event (3-1, 3 KOs). The Middleweight title fight between unbeaten Azael "El Perro" Rodriguez (3-0, #2 rated Middleweight) and John "The Machine" Davis (3-1, 1 KO, ranked #1 Middleweight) is also on the main bill.

Christapher "KO Chris" Thomas (4-0, 4 KOs), the top-ranked Welterweight, faces up against rising star Jesus Gaspar Diaz, who is ranked third, in the fourth title contest (1-2).


  • Darius “The Destroyer” Mata-Varona (1) vs. Ron “Wolverine” Bata (2) (Main Event; Heavyweight Title Match)
  • Vernon “The Mechanic” Cathey (1) vs. Ayjay “Static” Hintz (2) (Co-Main Event; Light Heavyweight Title Match)
  • John “The Machine” Davis (1) vs. Azael “El Perro” Rodriguez (2) (Middleweight Championship Match)
  • Christapher “KO Chris” Thomas (1) vs. Jesus Gaspar Diaz (3) (Welterweight Championship Match)
  • Damien “The Bell” Dibbell (3) vs. Duane “Iron Giant” Crespo (4) (Heavyweight Match)
  • Michael “Slap Jesus” Smith (2) vs. Waylon “Ice Cold” Frost (4) (Welterweight Match)
  • Emanuel “No Love” Muniz (3) vs. Wesley “All the Smoke” Drain (4) (Middleweight Match)
  • Russell “Kainoa” Rivero (4) vs. Isaih “Pretty Boy” Quinones (6) (Light Heavyweight Match)
  • Frank “The Tank” Holland (6) vs. Dorian “Disturbing the Peace” Perez (7) (Heavyweight Match)
  • Alex “Anax Religion” Asbury (5) vs. Paul “Ninja Turtle” Teague (7) (Welterweight Match)
  • Dayne “The Hawaiian Hitman” Viernes vs. Robert “El Texicano Loco” Ricondo (Super Heavyweight Match)
  • Rese “One Punch” Archer (6) vs. Travis “Tenacious” Aragon (9) (Middleweight Match)
  • Jewel “Kidd Diamond” Scott (1) vs. Robert “The Real Deal” Trujillo (2) (Lightweight Match)

What are your picks? Let us know in the comments below.


Please login to leave a comment


TermsPrivacy PolicyAbout UsContact Us
2024 All Rights Reserved © LockerRoom Network