LockerRoom Logo

ONE Fight Night 9 Results: Jonathan Haggerty stops Nong O to win the World Title

LockerRoom Team
Calendar Icon23 April 2023

With ONE Fight Night 9: Nong-O vs. Haggerty, ONE Championship (ONE) delivered another unforgettable evening of mixed martial arts action at the storied Lumpinee Boxing Stadium. The ONE Bantamweight Muay Thai World Title fight served as the event's main attraction.

Jonathan Haggerty defeated Nong-O Hama in the main event to win the ONE Bantamweight Muay Thai World Title.

Haggerty attacked Nong-O from the first bell, hitting him with powerful combinations that put the legendary Thai boxer on the back foot. Despite Nong-O's best efforts, Haggerty was too swift and acute to be repelled.

Haggerty down Nong-O with a straight right after a heated discussion, shocking everyone in the crowd. The Thai legend survived the 10-count, but "The General" used another devastating combination to send him tumbling to the canvas once more. At the 2:40 mark, Haggerty, sensing victory, aimed for Nong-O's head and connected with the fight-ending overhand right to win the ONE Championship.

Halil Amir, the #4-ranked competitor, defeated promotional rookie Maurice Abevi in a contest between unbeaten lightweight stars. Amir got things going quickly, using his agility and accuracy to pound Abevi with powerful cannon.

But Abevi would not yield to the overwhelming assault of Amir. While both men had their chances in the grappling arena, Amir emerged victorious by almost finishing a Suloev stretch. The fight reached the distance despite both fighters' best efforts to end it, and Amir was given the unanimous victory.

Performance bonus winners: Jonathan Haggerty (US$100,000), Felipe Lobo (US$50,000), Isi Fitikefu (US$50,000), Jhanlo Mark Sangiao (US$50,000)

You can see the complete results below.

ONE Fight Night 9 Complete Results

  • Muay Thai - Bantamweight: Jonathan Haggerty def. Nong-O Hama vía Knockout at 2:40 of R1
  • MMA - Lightweight: Halil Amir def. Maurice Abevi via Unanimous Decision
  • MMA - Strawweight: Bokang Masunyane def. Hiroba Minowa via Unanimous Decision
  • Muay Thai - Bantamweight: Felipe Lobo def. Saemapetch Fairtex via Knockout at 1:52 of R3
  • MMA - Atomweight: Denice Zamboanga def. Julie Mezabarba via Unanimous Decision
  • MMA - Welterweight: Isi Fitikefu def. Valmir Da Silva via Submission (Rear-Naked Choke) at 4:15 of R1
  • MMA - Strawweight: Meng Bo def. Dayane Cardoso via Unanimous Decision
  • Muay Thai - Catchweight (149.5 lbs): Asa Ten Pow def. Han Zi Hao via TKO at 0:52 of R3
  • MMA - Catchweight (149.75 lbs.): Jhanlo Mark Sangiao def. Matias Farinelli via Submission (Kneebar) at 0:58 of R1’

What are your thoughts on the results? Let us know in the comments below.


Please login to leave a comment


TermsPrivacy PolicyAbout UsContact Us
2024 All Rights Reserved © LockerRoom Network