LockerRoom Logo

2022 BRAVE CF Awards Announced: Asu Almabaev named fighter of the year

LockerRoom Team
29 January 2023

The 2022 BRAVE Combat Federation End of Year MMA Awards winners have been announced. In a momentous year, records were set and viral moments dominated the awards ceremony, including the fastest submission in the organization's history winning one of the prizes and an internet-shattering viral KO moment.

Nkosi Ndebele made a very good transition from potential to legitimate title challenger in 2022. He was a given for BRAVE Nation to be the year's breakout fighter after two convincing victories in the calendar year. The greatest fight of "The Future's" career is now ahead of him as he faces Jose "Shorty" Torres in a bantamweight matchup likely to determine the division's top contender.

Mashrabjon Ruziboev unquestionably emerged from the shadow of his older sibling Nursulton, the 2021 BRAVE CF KO of The Year winner. At BRAVE CF 59 in Uzbekistan, "Black Junior" cemented his place in BRAVE CF lore by submitting Niyaziddin Rysbaev with a guillotine choke in the quickest time ever—just 18 seconds. BRAVE Nation hailed the victory as deserving of the 2022 BRAVE CF Submission of The Year honour.

Chad Hanekom had a year to remember in 2022 as the South African middleweight kept winning big fights after losing his belt. But his year was made memorable by a shocking viral knockout that made him a household name in both MMA and mainstream media.

He flattened In Jae La with a vicious elbow at BRAVE CF 66, winning the title of KO of The Year in the process.

The most feared man in BRAVE CF revealed his humanity in BRAVE CF 59. Before meeting Olzhas Eskaraev, Abdisalam Kubanychbek overcame obstacles. Olzhas, however, proved why he is one of the best Lightweights in Asia when they fought for the Lightweight interim world title by pushing Abdisalam to the limit in a contest that had spectators all over the world on the edge of their seats. Olzhas wasn't afraid to exchange with Kubanychbek.

In the end, Kubanychbek won the interim championship, but Eskaraev also won the admiration of all the spectators.

Their fight has been named the Fight of the Year for 2022, and rightfully so.

Asu Almabaev has officially graduated in 2022 after claiming three victories in a row at BRAVE CF throughout the year. Fans may anticipate enormous things from Asu in 2023 after he was officially named the 2022 Fighter of the Year, replacing the 2021 Breakout Fighter of the Year.


  • Breakout Fighter of The Year: Nkosi Ndebele (South Africa)
  • Submission of The Year: Mashrabjon Ruziboev (Uzbekistan)
  • KO of The Year: Chad Hanekom (South Africa)
  • Fight of The Year: Abdisalam Kubanychbek (Kyrgyzstan) def. Olzhas Eskaraev (Kazakhstan) via unanimous decision – BRAVE CF 59
  • Fighter of The Year: Asu Almabaev (Kazakhstan)

What are your thoughts on the awards? Let us know in the comments below.


Please login to leave a comment


TermsPrivacy PolicyAbout UsContact Us
2024 All Rights Reserved © LockerRoom Network