LockerRoom Logo

UFC Vegas 37 Results: Smith submits Spann, Cutelaba and Lipski secure wins

LockerRoom Team
19 September 2021

UFC FIGHT NIGHT: SMITH vs SPANN aka UFC Vegas 37 aired in Asia on Sunday, September 19 live from UFC APEX in Las Vegas. The event was stacked with incredible highlight reel-worthy finishing action, including in the main event.

It was a barnburner as #6 light heavyweight contender Anthony Smith and #11 Ryan Spann engaged with aggression. Smith got the better in the exchanges, dropped Spann, and made him tap out to a rear-naked choke in the very first round. Smith said, "He's got the skills, I just think I'm better. That was the game plan, be better in every position. I'm out here beating anyone they put in front of me. I want someone ahead of me and I earned that. I want Alexander Rakic."

Ion Cutelaba and Devin Clark made their light heavyweight co-main bout an action-packed affair. Cutelaba delivered punishing offense which forced Clark into all sorts of bad positions, but he stayed in the fight to the closing bell. Cutelaba earned the unanimous decision win and said, “"The hulk is back! I am staying here. The next fight is to fight in the top. I am ready."

The main card opened with three back-to-back KOs. Highlight maker Joaquin Buckley added another KO to his reel with a finishing flurry of punches that took out Antonio Arroyo in the third round. The comeback of the night was by Nate Maness who survived a knockdown from Tony Gravely at the end of round one to get the KO halfway through round two. #14 lightweight Arman Tsarukyan kept the polish on his rise by taking out Christos Giagos with punches in the first round.

UFC Vegas 37 Official Results:


  • Anthony Smith
  • Arman Tsarukyan
  • Nate Maness
  • Joaquin Buckley


  • Anthony Smith def. Ryan Spann via submission (rear naked choke) at 3:47 of round one


  • Ion Cutelaba def. Devin Clark via unanimous decision (30-26, 29-26, 29-27)


  • Ariane Lipski def. Mandy Bohm via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)
  • Arman Tsarukyan def. Christos Giagos via TKO (strikes) at 2:09 of the first round
  • Nate Maness def. Tony Gravely via TKO (strikes) at 2:10 of the second round
  • Joaquin Buckley def. Antonio Arroyo via TKO (strikes) at 2:26 of the third round


  • Tafon Nchukwi def. Mike Rodriguez via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)
  • Raquel Pennington def. Pannie Kianzad via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)
  • Rong Zhu def. Brandon Jenkins via TKO (strikes) at 4:35 of the third round
  • Montel Jackson def. JP Buys via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)
  • Erin Blanchfield def. Sarah Alpar via unanimous decision (30-25, 30-25, 30-26)
  • Carlston Harris def. Impa Kasanganay via TKO (strikes) at 2:38 of the first round
  • Alatengheili Draw 3 (28-28, 28-28, 28-28) Gustavo Lopez
  • Hannah Goldy def. Emily Whitmire via submission (armbar) at 4:17 of round one

What are your thoughts on the event? Let us know in the comments below

You can download the LockerRoom India mobile app available on the Google Playstore and the App Store for all the latest news and updates from the Combat Sports World


Please login to leave a comment


TermsPrivacy PolicyAbout UsContact Us
2024 All Rights Reserved © LockerRoom Network