LockerRoom Logo

UFC Fight Island 8 Full Results: Michael Chiesa gets a win over Neil Magny

LockerRoom Team
22 January 2021

UFC rolled out UFC Fight Island 8 from the Yas Island in Abu Dhabi last day. In the main event, Michael Chiesa managed to get the better of Neil Magny after a five-round battle and took home a unanimous decision victory.

With the win, Chiesa is currently on a four-fight winning streak having secured impressive wins over Carlos Condit, Diego Sanchez, and Rafael Dos Anjos in his last four fights. In the post-fight interview, Chiesa called out Colby Covington as well.

"I’m just glad I was able to show some new wrinkles in my game... I showed guys I’m improving. I showed guys I’m dangerous. I definitely didn’t break Neil Magny. That would be a stupid thing to say. He’s an unbreakable guy. He’s as tough as they come.

His strength is cardio and I was able to stay on pace with him. We pushed each other to our limits. He’s a great human being and competitor. We’re both going to be better fighters after that fight. It feels good to get my first four-fight win streak in the UFC and get my first main event win. It’s surreal. I’m getting closer to my dream... I want to end this year as the number one contender. I want fights in the top five. I think Colby is the toughest fight for me stylistically, physically, and mentally,” Chiesa said after his victory.

Elsewhere, in the co-main event, Warlley Alves got a first-round stoppage win over Mounir Lazzez when Ike Villanueva also produced an impressive stoppage win against Vinicius Moreira. Also on the winning column of the main card was Viviane Araujo who outclassed Roxanne Modafferi. Matt Schnell, Lerone Murphy, and Omari Akhmedov also picked up wins on the main card. You can see the complete results from the event below.

Fight of the Night:

  • Mike Davis vs. Mason Jones

Performances of the Night:

  • Warlley Alves
  • Umar Nurmagomedov

Main Event

  • Michael Chiesa defeated Neil Magny via unanimous decision

Co-Main Event

  • Warlley Alves defeated Mounir Lazzez via first-round TKO

Main Card

  • Ike Villanueva defeated Vinicius Moreira via second-round KO
  • Viviane Araujo defeated Roxanne Modafferi via unanimous decision
  • Matt Schnell defeated Tyson Nam via split decision
  • Lerone Murphy defeated Douglas Silva de Andrade via unanimous decision
  • Omari Akhmedov defeated Tom Breese via second-round submission


  • Ricky Simon defeated Gaetano Pirrello via second-round submission
  • Sumudaerji defeated Zarrukh Adashev via unanimous decision
  • Dalcha Lungiambula defeated Markus Perez via unanimous decision
  • Francisco Figueiredo defeated Jerome Rivera via unanimous decision
  • Mike Davis defeated Mason Jones via unanimous decision
  • Umar Nurmagomedov defeated Sergey Morozov via second-round submission
  • Manon Fiorot defeated Victoria Leonardo via second-round TKO

What were your thoughts on the event? Let us know in the comment section below.

You can download our mobile app available on the Google Playstore and the App Store for all the latest news and updates from Indian MMA, UFC, ONE Championship, BRAVE CF, and much more 


Please login to leave a comment


TermsPrivacy PolicyAbout UsContact Us
2024 All Rights Reserved © LockerRoom Network