UFC 262 Results: Charles Oliveira crowned new UFC Lightweight Champion

LockerRoom Team
16 May 2021

UFC returned with UFC 262 today and the event saw the crowning of a new UFC Lightweight Champion in Charles Oliveira.

The main event between Michael Chandler and Charles Oliveira proved to be an exciting one from the starting bell itself. The first round saw a lot of scrambles on the ground with Oliveira going for his trademark submission attempts while Chandler was able to land some heavy ground and pound. The second round started off at the same pace as the first one and it was Oliveira that banked in and went home with a quick stoppage in the round.

Beneil Dariush secured a huge win in the co-main event when he outclassed Tony Ferguson to extend his winning streak. Dariush had the upper hand throughout the fight and almost submitted Ferguson as well at one point of the fight.

Matt Schnell and Rogerio Bontorin went the complete distance in their Bantamweight bout and saw Bontorin securing a unanimous decision victory.

In the main-card opener, Edson Barboza secured yet another win at Featherweight when he stopped Shane Burgos in the third round. Katlyn Chookagian’s journey towards another title shot got a huge boost when she secured a unanimous decision win over Viviane Araujo.

Elsewhere, in the prelims, Andre Muniz submission Ronaldo Souza when Lando Vannata, Jordan Wright, Andrea Lee and Priscila Cachoeira also secured wins in their respective bouts. You can see the complete results from UFC 262 below.

UFC 262 Main Card Results:

  • Charles Oliveira def. Michael Chandler via second-round TKO
  • Beneil Dariush def. Tony Ferguson via unanimous decision
  • Rogerio Bontorin def. Matt Schnell via Unanimous Decision
  • Katlyn Chookagian def. Viviane Araujo via Unanimous Decision  
  • Edson Barboza def. Shane Burgos via third-round TKO

UFC 262 Preliminary Card Results

  • Andre Muniz def. Ronaldo Souza via first-round submission
  • Lando Vannata def. Mike Grundy via split decision
  • Jordan Wright def. Jamie Pickett via first-round TKO
  • Andrea Lee def. Antonina Shevchenko via second-round submission
  • Priscila Cachoeira def. Gina Mazany via second-round TKO
  • Tucker Lutz vs. Kevin Aguilar via unanimous decision
  • Christos Giagos def. Sean Soriano via second-round submission

Let us know your thoughts on the event in the comment section of the article below.

You can download our mobile app available on the Google Playstore and the App Store for all the latest news and updates from Indian MMA, UFC, ONE Championship, BRAVE CF, and much more 


Please login to leave a comment


LockerRoom Logo
LockerRoom is a hangout place for everyone who cares about combat sports in India. We aim to provide a platform where everyone can discuss, network, debate, get latest updates and news, checkout exclusive interviews and stories regarding the Indian combat sports scene.