LockerRoom Logo

Bahrain crowned inaugural MMA Super Cup champions, wins $100,000

LockerRoom Team
12 March 2022

Bahrain has won the inaugural MMA Super Cup. The team defeated Ireland in the final of the event at the Khalifa Sports City Arena in Bahrain on 12 March 2022.

Bahrain went into the fight with a lead of 2-0 as two Irish fighters had to withdraw from the match. The match then opened with a showdown featuring Sabrina Laurentina de Souza and Kerry Ann Vernon. Sabrina pulled off a rear-naked choke submission in the closing seconds of the first round and made it 3-0 for Bahrain.

Haji Mohamed Ali then piled up the pressure on Ireland by submitting Jordan Bradshaw in the second round. Haji’s win made it 4-0 for Bahrain and pushed the team to a position where they only needed one win to become the inaugural MMA Super Cup Champions.

That one win was secured by Kurban Idrisov who outclassed Lewis Byrne in a Lightweight bout. Idrisov’s win guaranteed the win for Bahrain with four bouts to go. Magomed Isaev asserted the domination of Bahrain by submitting Jordan Furey in the first round. Ramazan Gitinov then made it 7-0 for Bahrain with a second-round TKO win. Gadzhi Gadzhiev with his first-round TKO victory made it 8-0 for Bahrain shortly after with the Heavyweight bout remaining. Gustavo Lopez and Sultan Gapizov went the complete distance in their Heavyweight showdown with the judges ruling in favor of Sultan via a majority decision to take the score to a perfect 9-0 for Bahrain.

Ahead of the finals, Bahrain had defeated Kazakhstan in the semi-finals and Team Tajikistan in the quarter-finals. With the win, Bahrain will also take home the prize money of $100,000. Ireland will get the runner-up prize money of $75,000.

ALSO READ | MMA Super Cup: Kazakhstan secures third place, takes home $50,000

Prior to the finals, Kazakhstan had secured third place in the tournament with a clean 9-0 sweep against Mexico in the bronze medal matchup. You can see the complete results from the MMA Super Cup Final below.

MMA Super Cup Final Results:

  • Bianca Basilio (BAH) gets a bye
  • Sabrina Laurentina de Souza (BAH) def. Kerry Ann Vernon (IRL) via submission (first-round)
  • Abdulla Mubarak (BAH) gets a bye
  • Haji Mohamed Ali (BAH) def. Jordan Bradshaw (IRL) via submission (second-round)
  • Kurban Idrisov (BAH) def. Lewis Byrne (IRL) via Unanimous decision
  • Magomed Isaev (BAH) def. Jordan Furey (IRL) via submission (first-round)
  • Ramazan Gitinov (BAH) def. Cameron Clements (IRL) via TKO (Second-Round) 
  • Gadzhi Gadzhiev (BAH) def. Dennis Perry (IRL) via TKO (first-round)
  • Sultan Gapizov (BAH) def. Gustavo Lopez (IRL) via Majority Decision

What do you think of the performance of Team Bahrain in the tournament? Let us know in the comment section of the article below.


Please login to leave a comment


TermsPrivacy PolicyAbout UsContact Us
2024 All Rights Reserved © LockerRoom Network