LockerRoom Logo

Meet the Indian MMA team for the 2021 IMMAF World Championship

LockerRoom Team
23 January 2022

Team India is all set to compete at the 2021 IMMAF World Championships from 23 January 2022 to 30 January 2022 in Abu Dhabi and this time around, a strong team of 12 athletes will be representing the country at the World Championships.

The team was selected through the MMA India Nationals which were held in the past year in Lucknow and Indore. The athletes underwent training in two batches with one batch training in Thailand and UFC Gym Abu Dhabi under the guidance of Coach Ajit Sigamani while the other batch trained in Hyderabad under Coaches Shaik Khalid and Vikram Nagaraj.

The MMA India Contingent also had an eventful journey after landing in Abu Dhabi as the team met with the Ambassador at the Embassy of India in Abu Dhabi on January 22, 2022, along with IMMAF President Kerrith Brown. 

WATCH | Complete action from Indian Open MMA Championship Indore

Apart from the athletes which include former IMMAF Junior World Champion Mahboob Khan and WMMAA World Championship Medalist Abu Syed Nazzeur, a strong technical team will also be heading to the World Championship including MMA India international referees, physios, and nutritionists as we reported earlier. The team has received support through sponsorship from Venky’s and Aeropostale. Aeropostale will be providing the team with backpacks. Greenhill will be providing kits for the team.

You can see the Indian MMA Team for the World Championship below.

  • Vridhi Kumari - Women's F: Atomweight 47.6 kg (105 lbs)
  • Shabarish Ayyanar - Men's M: Strawweight 52.2 kg (115 lbs)
  • Ishan Kumar - Men's M: Strawweight 52.2 kg (115 lbs)
  • Mahboob Khan Mohammed - Men's M: Flyweight 56.7 kg (125 lbs)
  • Vijay Venkatesan - Men's M: Jr Flyweight 56.7 kg (125 lbs)
  • Ganesh Raj Srinivasan - Men's M: Bantamweight 61.2 kg (135 lbs)
  • Lenin Prakash - Men's M: Featherweight 65.8 kg (145 lbs)
  • Syed Abdul Nazzeur Ibrahim - Men's M: Welterweight 77.1 kg (170 lbs)
  • Priyanshu Sharma - Men's M: Jr Welterweight 77.1 kg (170 lbs)
  • Anurag Singh - Men's M: Middleweight 83.9 kg (185 lbs)
  • Ramston Edwin Rodrigues - Men's M: Middleweight 83.9 kg (185 lbs)
  • Mohit Aggarwal - Men's M: Heavyweight 120.2 kg (265 lbs)

What are your thoughts on the team? Let us know in the comment section of the article below.

You can download our mobile app available on the Google Playstore and the App Store for all the latest news and updates from the Combat Sports World


Please login to leave a comment


TermsPrivacy PolicyAbout UsContact Us
2024 All Rights Reserved © LockerRoom Network