LockerRoom Logo

UFC Kansas City Results: Max Holloway gets a decision win in the main event

LockerRoom Team
17 April 2023

In front of a huge audience, the UFC's return to Kansas City featured an intense and passionate collection of matches. Max Holloway defeated the brilliant Arnold Allen in the main event featherweight contenders fight by scoring a unanimous decision victory.

By landing more than 3,000 meaningful strikes in the Octagon, Holloway broke a record and solidified his chances of winning back the featherweight championship.

The title contender fight between former featherweight champion #2 Max Holloway and #4 Arnold Allen featured five rounds of masterful striking.

Although Holloway was more frugal than anticipated, his superior game plan of maintaining an advantage by making accurate shots is what truly distinguishes him as a legend. Holloway's victory made him the first UFC fighter to land more than 3,000 meaningful strikes.

"I wanted to come out here with nothing (blank slate), but Arnold Allen hits like a truck. I wanted to keep tagging him, he didn't want to go out, he wanted to go all the way, and I welcome that. Don't boo the man, it takes two to dance and he did it,” Holloway said.

In the co-main event, veteran #14 Edson Barboza stopped Billy Quarantillo in the first round with a highlight-reel-worthy knee, despite the fact that they both started off strong.

"The most important: I love to see you guys in the crowd, that's why I'm here! I trained exactly in this movement for eight weeks. Please (give me) someone ranked in front of me. Edson Barboza is still here, I'm ready!,” he said.

UFC Kansas City Results


  • Fight of the Night: Bill Algeo vs TJ Brown
  • Performance of the Night: Brandon Royval
  • Performance of the Night: Edson Barboza
  • Performance of the night: Gillian Robertson



  • Max Holloway (49-46, 49-46, 48-47) defeats Arnold Allen by Unanimous Decision


  • Edson Barboza defeats Billy Quarantillo by KO (knee) at 2:37 of Round 1


  • Rafa Garcia (30-27, 30-27, 30-27) defeats Clay Guida by Unanimous Decision
  • Pedro Munhoz (30-27, 30-27, 30-27) defeats Chris Gutierrez by Unanimous Decision
  • Ion Cutelaba defeats Tanner Boser by TKO (strikes) at 2:05 of Round 1
  • Azamat Murzakanov (29-28, 29-28, 29-28) defeats Dustin Jacoby by Unanimous Decision


  • Joselyne Edwards (29-28, 29-28) defeats Lucie Pudilova (29-28) by Split Decision
  • Gaston Bolanos (29-28, 30-27, 30-27) defeats Aaron Phillips by Unanimous Decision
  • Denise Gomes defeats Bruna Brasil by TKO (strikes) at 2:42 of Round 2
  • Daniel Zellhuber (29-27, 29-28, 30-27) defeats Lando Vannata by Unanimous Decision
  • Gillian Robertson defeats Piera Rodriguez by verbal Submission (Armbar) at 4:21 of Round 2
  • Zak Cummings defeats Ed Herman by TKO (strikes) at 4:13 of Round 3
  • Brandon Royval defeats Matheus Nicolau by KO (knee and strikes) at 2:09 of Round 1
  • Bill Algeo defeats TJ Brown by Submission (rear-naked choke) at 1:40 of Round 2

What are your thoughts on the event? Let us know in the comments below.


Please login to leave a comment


TermsPrivacy PolicyAbout UsContact Us
2024 All Rights Reserved © LockerRoom Network