LockerRoom Logo

UFC 281 Results: Alex Pereira stops Israel Adesanya, Zhang Weili submits Esparza

LockerRoom Team
16 November 2022

On Sunday, November 13, UFC 281: ADESANYA vs. PEREIRA was broadcast live in Asia from New York City's renowned Madison Square Garden. The event had 7 knockouts, 4 submissions, and the exchange of both titles, making it a thrilling fight from start to finish.

Alex Pereira crowned Middleweight champion

Israel Adesanya, the current UFC middleweight champion, challenged old kickboxing foe #5, Alex Pereira, to a fight and delighted with a close call at the opening bell. At the end of the second round, Pereira responded with a takedown; in the third, Adesanya got his own and dominated the remainder of the round.

Pereira's performance dwindled in the fourth, but he got Adesanya up and moving in the fifth with some huge shots. After only four UFC fights, Pereira was awarded the title when the referee stopped the match.

Zhang Weili recaptures the title, and Poirier wins

Carla Esparza, the current UFC women's strawweight champion, took on Zhang Weili in her first title defence, but it was not to be. Zhang demonstrated her hitting, followed by outgrappling Esparza to win the first round by submission to reclaim the championship.

Lightweights Dustin Poirier and Chandler put on a show for the fans. Michael Chandler put in a testy contest that began with a brawl and ended with Chandler's destructive ground control in round two. In the third round, Poirier swung it back and forced the tap with a rear naked choke. You can see the complete results from the event below.


  • Fight Of The Night: Dustin Poirier vs Michael Chandler
  • Performance Of The Night: Alex Pereira
  • Performance Of The Night: Zhang Weili
  • 27th-Consecutive Sell-Out


  • Alex Pereira defeats Israel Adesanya by TKO (punches) at 2:01 of Round 5


  • Zhang Weili defeats Carla Esparza by submission (rear-naked choke) at 1:05 of Round 2


  • Dustin Poirier defeats Michael Chandler by submission (rear-naked choke) at 2:00 of Round 3
  • Chris Gutierrez defeats Frankie Edgar by KO (knee) at 2:01 of Round 1
  • Dan Hooker defeats Claudio Puelles by TKO (body kick) at 4:06 of Round 2


  • Renato Moicano defeats Brad Riddell by submission (rear-naked choke) at 3:20 of Round 1
  • Ryan Spann defeats Dominick Reyes by KO (left hand) at 1:20 of Round 1
  • Erin Blanchfield defeats Molly McCann by submission (kimura) at 3:37 of Round 1
  • Andre Petroski defeats Wellington Turman by unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 29-28)
  • Matt Frevola defeats Ottman Azaitar by KO (left hook) at 2:30 of Round 1
  • Karolina Kowalkiewicz defeats Silvana Gomez Juarez by unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)
  • Michael Trizano defeats SeungWoo Choi by TKO (punches) at 4:51 of Round 1
  • Montel Jackson defeats Julio Arce by unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 29-28)
  • Carlos Ulberg defeats Nicolae Negumereanu by TKO (punches) at 3:44 of Round 1

What are your thoughts on the event? Let us know in the comments below.


Please login to leave a comment


TermsPrivacy PolicyAbout UsContact Us
2024 All Rights Reserved © LockerRoom Network