LockerRoom Logo

IMMAF MMA World Championship: Full Results for Team India

LockerRoom Team
Calendar Icon14 February 2023

The 2022 IMMAF MMA World Championship campaign of Team India came to an end on 14 February 2023 as all the Indian fighters bowed out of the tournament. The team was not able to secure any medals this time around.

The lone win for India in the tournament came for Ganesh Raj who had secured a unanimous decision win over Marculino Fernando of Angola in the Round of 32. In the next round, Ganesh went up against Murad Ibragimov of Bahrain in the Round of 16 and put up a strong performance. The scorecard, however, did not go in favour of Ganesh who suffered a decision loss.

Former Junior World Champion Mahboob Khan received a walkover in the round of 16 as his opponent from Pakistan Arslan Abbasi failed to make weight. In the Quarter-Final, Mahboob fought Muhammad Salohiddinov in what proved to be a rematch from the IMMAF Asian MMA Championship.

Just like the case with the Asian Championship, Salohiddinov managed to outclass the Indians and secured a unanimous decision win to end the campaign of Mahboob.

Zarmawia suffered a decision loss to Ioannis Marathias of Greece on the opening day when Shabarish Ayyanar suffered a decision loss to Ruslan Abdrakhmanov of Kazakhstan. Both Zarmawia and Shabarish had a tough time coping with the ground game of their respective opponents.

Former World Championship Bronze Medallist Vridhi Kumari went the distance against Victoria Anthony of The USA and suffered a decision loss. Khushboo Nishad, on the other hand, suffered a TKO loss against European champion Magdalena Czaban of Poland. You can see the complete results of Team India below.

IMMAF MMA World Championship Results for Team India

  • Ganesh Raj (India) def. Marculino Fernando Diogo (Angola) via Unanimous Decision
  • Ioannis Marathias (Greece) def. Zarmawia (India) via Unanimous Decision
  • Mahboob Khan (India) def. Arslan Abbasi (Pakistan) via Weigh-In Failed
  • Murad Ibragimov (Bahrain) def. Ganesh Raj (India) via Unanimous Decision
  • Ruslan Abdrakhmanov (Kazakhstan) def. Shabarish Ayyanar (India) via Unanimous Decision
  • Muhammad Salohiddinov (Tajikistan) def. Mahboob Khan (India) via Unanimous Decision)
  • Magdalena Czaban (Poland) def. Khushboo Nishad (India) via First Round TKO
  • Victoria Anthony (USA) def. Vridhi Kumari (India) via Unanimous Decision

What are your thoughts on Team India’s performance at the IMMAF World Championship?


Please login to leave a comment


TermsPrivacy PolicyAbout UsContact Us
2024 All Rights Reserved © LockerRoom Network