LockerRoom Logo

Here are the Winners of the Second Edition of the Indian Sports Honours

Press Release
17 October 2019

The second edition of the Indian Sports Honours (ISH), an initiative by Sanjiv Goenka, Chairman, RP-SG Group and Virat Kohli was held on 27th September 2019 at Dome, NSCI, SVP Stadium, Mumbai.

The annual ceremony, aimed to recognize and honour India’s top performing athletes for the period of 1st January to 31st December 2018, was attended by the biggest names in the sporting, entertainment and corporate fraternity.

A total of seventeen Honours were presented at the ceremony, comprising eleven Jury Honours, including one Lifetime Achievement Honour, and six Popular Choice Honours known as the ‘Star Sports Believe Honours’.

The nominees for the Honours were shortlisted by over 200 journalists from the Sports Journalist Federation of India (SJFI), who are experts on the performances of Indian athletes in the period of consideration. The Jury Honours were then decided by the ISH jury which included eminent leaders and Indian sporting champions like Sanjiv Goenka, Pulella Gopichand, Mahesh Bhupathi, Sardar Singh, Abhinav Bindra, PT Usha and Anjali Bhagwat. The winners of the Popular Choice Honours, the ‘Star Sports Believe Honours’, were selected by the sports loving fans themselves who voted for their favourite sportspeople on Twitter earlier this year. The winners of each category were decided based on the highest number of votes in each category.

The complete list of winners is appended below

Differently Abled Sportsman of the Year

Sandeep Chaudhary

Differently Abled Sportswoman of the Year

Rakshita Raju

Emerging Sportsman of the Year

Saurabh Chaudhary

Emerging Sportswoman of the Year

Manu Bhaker

Coach of the Year

Pulella Gopichand

Sportsman of the Year (Individual)

Bajrang Punia

Sportswoman of the Year (Individual)

Vinesh Phogat

Sportsman of the Year (Team)

Sunil Chhetri

Sportswoman of the Year (Team)

Smriti Mandhana

Team of the Year

Indian Cricket Team: Men

Lifetime Achievement Honour

Milkha Singh

Popular Choice Honours - Star Sports Believe Honours

Breakthrough Performance of the Year – Male

Jasprit Bumrah

Breakthrough Performance of the Year - Female

Jemimah Rodrigues

Spirit of Sport Honour

Sunil Chhetri

Comeback of the Year

Dipa Karmakar

Club of the Year

Chennai Super Kings

Fan Club of the Year

Whistle Podu Army – CSK Fan Club


Please login to leave a comment


TermsPrivacy PolicyAbout UsContact Us
2024 All Rights Reserved © LockerRoom Network