LockerRoom Logo

UFC 274 Results: Oliveira submits Gaethje, Esparza wins Strawweight title

LockerRoom Team
08 May 2022

UFC 274 happened today and was headlined by two title bouts. The main event, which saw a lot of pre-fight drama, lived up to the hype. Charles Oliveira and Justin Gaethje were going at it from the start itself and Oliveira managed to submit Gaethje in the first round with a rear-naked choke to make a statement.

In the co-main event, Carla Esparza and Rose Namajunas went the complete five rounds with minimal action. Both the fighters were cautious throughout the five rounds and failed to engage in any interesting exchanges. In the end, the judges ruled the fight in the favor of Carla Esparza who was crowned the new UFC Strawweight champion.

The showdown between Michael Chandler and Tony Ferguson produced a knockout of the year contender as Chandler stopped Ferguson with a front kick in the second round. With the win, Chandler became only the second fighter to produce a KO/TKO against Ferguson after Justin Gaethje back in 2020.

Ovince St. Preux picked up a split decision win against Mauricio Rua in the main card when Randy Brown and Khaos Williams also went the distance with the split decision going in favor of Randy Brown.

In the undercard, Francisco Trinaldo, Macy Chiasso, Brandon Royval, and Blagoy Ivanov picked up wins in their respective fights. You can see the complete results from the event below.

UFC 274 Results:

  • Charles Oliveira def. Justin Gaethje via first-round submission
  • Carla Esparza def. Rose Namajunas via split decision
  • Michael Chandler def. Tony Ferguson via second-round KO
  • OSP def. Mauricio Rua via split decision
  • Randy Brown def. Khaos Williams via split decision

UFC 274 Undercard Results

  • Francisco Trinaldo def. Danny Roberts via unanimous decision
  • Macy Chiasson def. Norma Dumont via split decision
  • Brandon Royval def. Matt Schnell via First-Round Submission
  • Blagoy Ivanov def. Marcos Rogerio de Lima via unanimous decision
  • Andre Fialho def. Cameron VanCamp via first-round KO
  • Tracy Cortez def. Melissa Gatto via unanimous decision
  • C.J. Vergara def. Kleydson Rodrigues via split decision
  • Lupita Godinez def. Ariane Carnelossi via unanimous decision
  • Journey Newson def. Fernie Garcia via unanimous decision

What are your thoughts on the event? Let us know in the comments below.


Please login to leave a comment


TermsPrivacy PolicyAbout UsContact Us
2024 All Rights Reserved © LockerRoom Network