LockerRoom Logo

UFC 259 Results: Blachowicz and Nunes retain, Sterling wins Bantamweight Title

LockerRoom Team
07 March 2021

UFC returned with a stacked UFC 259 pay-per-view today which was headlined by three title fights.

In the main event, Jan Blachowicz shattered the two-division title dreams of Israel Adesanya with a decision victory. The fight went the complete distance of five rounds and both fighters had their moments across the time frame. Blachowicz, however, had the upper hand on the scorecard to secure the win.

Amanda Nunes made quick work of Megan Anderson in the co-main event with an arm-bar in the first-round itself. Amanda never seemed to be in danger in the fight and once again, showcased her dominance inside the octagon by dismantling Anderson within no time.

The Bantamweight title fight between Aljamain Sterling and Petr Yan had an unexpected ending. Yan landed an illegal knee in the championship round which eventually forced the officials to call off the fight and give Sterling a win via disqualification. With the win, Sterling was crowned the new UFC Bantamweight champion.

Islam Makhachev secured a dominant third round submission win against Drew Dober in the main card. Dober showcased a resilient performance in the match but failed to fend off the grappling prowess that Makhachev had.

In the opening fight of the main card, Aleksandar Rakic got the better of Thiago Santos. The fight was uneventful as both fighters were cautious throughout the three rounds. Featured prelims saw the return of former UFC Bantamweight champion Dominick Cruz who secured a split decision win over Casey Kenney. You can see the complete results from the event below.

UFC 259 Full Results:

  • Jan Blachowicz def. Israel Adesanya via Unanimous Decision
  • Amanda Nunes def. Megan Anderson via first-round submission
  • Aljamain Sterling def. Petr Yan via Disqualification
  • Islam Makhachev def. Drew Dober via Third-Round submission
  • Aleksandar Rakic def. Thiago Santos via unanimous decision

Prelim card

  • Dominick Cruz def. Casey Kenney via split decision
  • Kyler Phillips def. Song Yadong via unanimous decision
  • Aksar Askarov def. Joseph Benavidez via unanimous decision
  • Kai Kara-France def. Rogerio Bontorin via first-round TKO
  • Tim Elliott def. Jordan Espinosa via unanimous decision
  • Kennedy Nzechukwu def. Carlos Ulberg via second-round TKO
  • Sean Brady def. Jake Matthews via third-round submission
  • Amanda Lemos def. Livia Renata Souza via first-round TKO
  • Uros Medic def. Aalon Cruz via first-round TKO
  • Trevin Jones def. Mario Bautista via second-round TKO

Let us know your thoughts in the comment section below.

You can download our mobile app available on the Google Playstore and the App Store for all the latest news and updates from the Combat Sports World


Please login to leave a comment


TermsPrivacy PolicyAbout UsContact Us
2024 All Rights Reserved © LockerRoom Network