LockerRoom Logo

Leverage Fight Night IX: Aman Gusain wins the tournament, takes home Rs.1 Lakh

LockerRoom Team
Calendar Icon18 December 2020

Leverage Fight Night IX is in the books and saw Aman Gusain of Warrior's Cove MMA winning the 16-man submission-only single-elimination tournament.

Aman made quick work of his Warrior’s Cove MMA teammate Peeyush Pandey in the finals via an inside heel hook and concluded his run which saw him pick wins over Prashanth Kota, Debojit Dasgupta, and teammate Raajus Dewan. With the win, he takes home the cash prize of Rs. 1 Lakh and also won a shiny belt as well.

The first matchup of the tournament saw Rachit Tyagi going up against Tribhuvan Issar. Rachit took home the win in overtime with an armbar when Shaun Loyal had a quick submission against Aditya Saha who came into the tournament on short notice.

Debojit Dasgupta got the better of Tarun Yadav to move into the quarter finals when Sunny Khatri had a quick heel hook submission to outclass Shantanu Pujari who also came into the tournament on short notice.

The biggest surprise of the first-round perhaps came thanks to Raajus Dewan. Raajus, who had replaced Chaitanya Gavali in the bracket on short notice, managed to cruise into the quarter finals by defeating Punyajit Likharu.

Nihaal Joseph and Sadique Qaiyum produced one of the most exciting showdowns in the first-round with Nihaal taking home the win after overtime. Peeyush Pandey submitted Seth Rosario when Aman Gusain got the final win of the First-round against Prashanth Kota.

Rachit Tyagi continued his impressive performance in the quarter finals as well by getting a win over Sunny Khatri when Raajus Dewan surprised yet again when he progressed into the semi-finals at the expense of his teammate Shaun Loyal. Peeyush Pandey outclassed his former teammate Nihaal Joseph to enter the semi-finals when Aman Gusain defeated Debojit Dasgupta.

A rematch from ADCC India between Rachit Tyagi and Peeyush Pandey opened the semi-finals. In what proved to be one of the best matchups of the night, Rachit and Peeyush exhausted the overtime rounds with Peeyush taking home the win in the end. The second semi-final between Raajus Dewan and Aman Gusain ended quickly after Aman managed to submit Raajus with an inside heel hook.

First-Round Results:

  • Rachit Tyagi def. Tribhuvan Issar
  • Shaun Loyal def. Aditya Saha
  • Debojit Dasgupta def. Tarun Yadav
  • Sunny Khatri def. Shantanu Pujari
  • Raajus Dewan def. Punyajit Likharu
  • Nihaal Joseph def. Sadique Qaiyum
  • Peeyush Pandey def. Seth Rosario
  • Aman Gusain def. Prashanth

Quarter-Final Results:

  • Rachit Tyagi def. Sunny Khatri
  • Raajus Dewan def. Shaun Loyal
  • Peeyush Pandey def. Nihaal Joseph
  • Aman Gusain def. Debojit Dasgupta

Semi-Final Results:

  • Peeyush Pandey def. Rachit Tyagi
  • Aman Gusain def. Raajus Dewan

Final Result:

  • Aman Gusain def. Peeyush Pandey

What do you think of the tournament? Let us know in the comment section below.

You can download our mobile app available on the Google Playstore and the App Store for all the latest news and updates from the Combat Sports World


Please login to leave a comment


TermsPrivacy PolicyAbout UsContact Us
2024 All Rights Reserved © LockerRoom Network