LockerRoom Logo

Indian Boxing Squad announced for Paris 2024 Olympic Qualification Tournament

LockerRoom Team
Calendar Icon25 January 2024

The Boxing Federation of India (BFI) has announced a formidable nine-member squad for the first World Qualification Tournament for the Paris 2024 Olympics, set to unfold in Busto Arsizio, Italy, from February 29 to March 12. Leading the charge will be six-time Asian Championships medallist Shiva Thapa.

The selected squad comprises accomplished boxers, including 2022 Commonwealth Games bronze medallist Jaismine Lamboria, youth world champion Ankushita Boro, reigning national champions Lakshya Chahar and Sanjeet Kumar, Asian Games bronze medallist Narender Berwal, and World Championship bronze medallists Mohammed Hussamuddin, Deepak Bhoria, and Nishant Dev.

The high-performance unit conducted a comprehensive evaluation process based on various performance parameters to finalize the squad, according to the BFI.

India has already secured four quotas for the Paris 2024 Olympics, with Nikhat Zareen, Preeti Pawar, Parveen Hooda, and Lovlina Borgohain earning berths at the Asian Games in Hangzhou last year.

The first World Olympic Boxing Qualification Tournament in Busto Arsizio will offer a total of 50 Olympics quotas, with 28 in the men's categories and 22 in the women's categories. The upcoming event is crucial for boxers aiming to secure their spots in the Paris Olympics.

The second World Qualification Tournament is scheduled to take place in Bangkok from May 23 to June 3, where 45 to 51 boxers will have the opportunity to obtain quotas. Eligibility for the Bangkok meet is restricted to countries that have not secured a quota for a specific weight category through their continental qualification tournament or the first World Qualification Tournament.

The announced Indian squad for the World Olympic Boxing Qualification Tournament 2024 includes:

  • Deepak Bhoria (Men’s 51kg)
  • Mohammed Hussamuddin (Men’s 57kg)
  • Shiva Thapa (Men’s 63.5kg)
  • Nishant Dev (Men’s 71kg)
  • Lakshya Chahar (Men’s 80kg)
  • Sanjeet Kumar (Men’s 92kg)
  • Narender Berwal (Men’s +92kg)
  • Jaismine Lamboria (Women’s 60kg)
  • Ankushita Boro (Women’s 66kg)

What are your thoughts on the team? Let us know in the comments below.


Please login to leave a comment


TermsPrivacy PolicyAbout UsContact Us
2024 All Rights Reserved © LockerRoom Network