LockerRoom Logo

Mixed Martial Arts Federation of India announces State Heads and Plans

LockerRoom Team
25 August 2021

The Mixed Martial Arts Federation of India last day announced the state heads and immediate plans that are in place for the organization. 12 State Heads were announced through the social media channels of MMAFI and the team also noted that promoting MMA in rural areas will be the priority for the team.

You can check out the complete statement from the team along with the State Head list.

“In MMAFI state heads meeting 12 states head attended virtual meeting with President Mayur Bansode and discuss various point to uplift the sports of MMA in India.

Board gave first priority to set up referee council and educate athletes and officials about athletes safety and Unified MMA rules not only in Metro cities but also in 2tier, 3tier cities and Rural areas.  MMAFI state Head Mr Atul Kumar from Bihar already set the example promoting combat sports in Rural area by organising India VS Nepal Kickboxing Fight Night in Sonpur Mela ( Asia’s No 1 Animal fare which fave 3 Million footfall ) in 2018, and almost 10,000 people gathered to watch fights.

 So MMAFI board members take a step ahead and  decided to translate Unified MMA Rules in Hindi Language and also gave instructions to State Heads to translate Unified MMA rules in their regional languages, it will help the athletes and officials to understand rules in details and better  from all over India. 

Under the leadership of Mr Surendra Pandey MMAFI referee council is under process.

MMAFI decided to discuss women empowerment in sports of MMA in next meeting and also seeking women who contribute and become board members in MMAFI.

Currently, 12 states are affiliated with MMAFI and ready to promote sports in their respective states and Union territory.

MMAFI is with in decision with  Maharashtra and Goa MMA association to organise the National championship in starting of year 2022.

State Heads of MMAFI

  • Maharashtra – Mr. Anil Marathe/ Mr. Surendra Pandey
  • West Bengal – Mr. Shiba Pradhan
  • Gujrat – Mr. Arun Kumar.
  • Assam – Mr. Sagnick Gupta
  • Karnataka – Mr. Siju Thomas Daniel
  • Patna – Mr. Atul Kumar
  • Tamilnadu – Mr. Ajay Barath
  • Telangana – Mr. Syed Jalaludin Zafar
  • Meghalaya – Mr. Isaiah Kharmawphlang
  • Goa  – Mr. Ajay Vishwakarma
  • Chandigarh - Suraj Verma
  • Ladakh – Mr. Mehdi Nasirey”

The team has also appointed Mr. Surendra Pandey appointed as HOD of MMAFI Referee/ Officials Council and Mr. Nihar Londhe appointed as National Coordinator.

Let us know your thoughts on the developments in the comment section of the article below.

You can download the LockerRoom India mobile app available on the Google Playstore and the App Store for all the latest news and updates from the Combat Sports World


Please login to leave a comment


TermsPrivacy PolicyAbout UsContact Us
2024 All Rights Reserved © LockerRoom Network