LockerRoom Logo

Matrix Fight Night 8 Results: Badakhshi wins main event, Sanjeet stops Dhruv

LockerRoom Team
02 April 2022

Matrix Fight Night 8 (MFN 8) happened in Delhi last day and had nine exciting bouts on offer for the fans.

The event was opened by the showdown between Chungreng Koren and Aman Saini. Aman, despite, taking the fight on short notice, put forward a resilient performance but could not resist the relentless pressure from Koren. Koren picked up a stoppage win in the second round and bounced back strongly from his loss to Angad Bisht.

ALSO READ | From the rice fields of Manipur to the MMA cage: The Story of Chungreng Koren

The second bout of the event saw Sagar Thapa locking horns with Tanish Gupta. In what proved to be a to and fro battle between the two youngsters, it was Sagar that came out on top via a decision.

The rematch between Musa Raish and Bonjovi had plenty of action. Musa almost got a finish at the end of the second round only to see the match getting restarted for the third round. Musa, however, asserted his dominance and stopped the fight in the third to add another huge win to his resume.

ALSO READ | The rise of the Afghan Lion Abdul Azim Badakhshi: Daniel Isaac details

Rahul Thapa made a huge statement in his professional MMA debut when he stopped the experienced Kushal Vyas in the first round. Rahul had a good amount of success on the ground and translated this into ground and pound to finish the fight.

Shyamanand continued his impressive run in MFN and picked up a first-round TKO win over Krishna Heer. Though Krishna Heer had his moments early in the fight, once matters went to the ground, Shyam picked up the pace and grabbed the finish to get his second straight win in the promotion.

The much-awaited showdown between Angad Bisht and Chaitanya Gavali lived up to the expectations. Gavali had a strong first round where he pushed Angad to the backfoot. Angad, however, staged a great comeback in the second round and dropped Gavali. Though Gavali managed to avoid the TKO stoppage, he was soon submitted by Angad via a rear-naked choke.

ALSO READ | Angad Bisht: Forging a Legacy in the mountains of Uttarakhand

One of the biggest upsets of the night came thanks to Zahoor Shah. The Afghani MMA fighter managed to stop Indian MMA star Srikant Sekhar in the first-round after catching him with a huge punch in the early proceedings.

In the co-main event of the night, Sanjeet Budhwar stopped Dhruv Chaudhary in the second round. Dhruv seemed to be dictating the pace of the fight with his grappling prowess but Sanjeet managed to outpower Dhruv in the second round and ended up getting a stoppage win.

The main event proved to be one of the most exciting fights on the card. Abdul Azim Badakhshi and Fabricio Oliveira delivered a match for the ages. Oliveira was constantly looking for the takedown and the submission throughout the three rounds but the world-class takedown defense of Badakhshi was proving to be the difference. The Afghan Lion had success on the standing as well which proved to be the major difference on the scorecard.

You can see the complete results from Matrix Fight Night 8 below.

Matrix Fight Night 8 Results | MFN 8 Results

  • Abdul Azim Badakhshi def. Fabricio Oliveira via Unanimous Decision
  • Sanjeet Budhwar def. Dhruv Chaudhary via TKO (Round 2)
  • Zahoor Shah def. Srikant Sekhar via TKO (Round 1)
  • Angad Bisht def. Chaitanya Gavali via Submission (Round 2)
  • Shyamanand def. Krishna Heer via TKO (Round 1)
  • Rahul Thapa def. Kushal Vyas via TKO (Round 1)
  • Musa Raish def. Bonjovi via TKO (Round 3)
  • Sagar Thapa def. Tanish Gupta via Decision
  • Chungreng Koren def. Aman Saini via TKO (Round 2)

What are your thoughts on the events? Let us know in the comment section of the article below.


Please login to leave a comment


TermsPrivacy PolicyAbout UsContact Us
2024 All Rights Reserved © LockerRoom Network